top of page

Butterfly Bonanza in Brazil: A Whirlwind Adventure in Search of Fluttering Jewels!

Welcome, fellow butterfly enthusiasts, to the most captivating adventure of my life, a butterfly collecting expedition in the heart of Brazil! This trip was so action-packed, I promise you'll be on the edge of your seat throughout this enthralling journey. From Rio de Janeiro's urban paradise to the rural treasures of Diamantina, this blog post will flutter into your heart and leave you buzzing for more!

Chapter 1: Rio de Janeiro - Where the Butterflies Dance to Samba Rhythms Our captivating journey unfolds in Rio de Janeiro, a city that pulsates with life and color, where the towering skyscrapers and the enchanting world of exotic butterflies coexist in a harmonious balance. This bustling metropolis, with its vibrant culture and breathtaking natural landscapes, set the stage for an adventure that would take us deep into the heart of Brazil's butterfly wonderland.

Our primary mission was singular yet exhilarating: to encounter the elusive Parides ascanius, a butterfly species renowned for its striking beauty and rarity. But the Parides ascanius was just the tip of the iceberg in our pursuit of Brazilian butterfly treasures. We aimed to uncover a myriad of other rare and captivating species that called this diverse country home. As we ventured into the lush, verdant landscapes of Brazil, every day was an opportunity to witness nature's artistry up close. The journey was marked by thrilling captures and breathtaking moments when we held in our hands the living jewels of the butterfly world. We revealed in the vibrant colors, intricate wing patterns, and the untamed beauty that surrounded us at every turn. Chapter 2: Inland Adventure - The Serrado Secrets and Waterfall Wonders In that enchanting day, our choice hung in the balance, as we stood at the crossroads of an enticing dilemma - should we take a refreshing dip in the crystalline waters or follow the captivating allure of chasing butterflies? The sun had painted the world in a warm embrace, its golden rays dancing on the rippling surface of the water, inviting us to cool off. However, the prospect of fluttering wings, vibrant colors, and elusive lepidopteran wonders beckoned with an irresistible charm. Butterflies are often unpredictable, and this day was no exception. Few butterflies were congregating or puddling, where they seek nutrients from damp soil or rocks. However, as keen butterfly enthusiasts, we recognized that their elusive presence could be elsewhere, perhaps on the vivid blooms scattered throughout the landscape.

With butterfly nets in hand and an unshakeable determination kindled in our hearts, we chose the path less taken. We set out inland, away from the enticing waters, embracing an adventure that seemed to rival Indiana Jones' most daring quests. In the heart of the Serrado, a unique and pristine ecosystem, we ventured forth, eager to uncover its hidden treasures.


The Serrado, a vast savanna region with an astonishing array of biodiversity, was our chosen destination. The allure of the Morpho butterflies, with their iridescent azure wings, the elegance of the Parides species, and the mesmerizing kaleidoscope of lepidopteran wonders were the driving forces propelling us forward. Every step we took seemed like a revelation, as the landscape unfolded. In our quest, nature's generosity was overwhelmingly evident. The butterflies graced us with their presence, almost as if they knew they were the stars of our adventure. Morphos flaunted their dazzling azure wings in playful displays each time we crossed a stream, their ethereal beauty leaving us breathless. Parides danced gracefully among the blooming flowers, their striking colors making each moment a vivid painting along with the myriad other species of lepidoptera, like delicate brush strokes, painted the Serrado. As we chased butterflies through this magnificent landscape, we realized that our decision had been the right one. The Serrado had offered us an unforgettable experience that combined the thrill of exploration with the pure joy of observing these delicate and captivating creatures.

Chapter 3: The Prepona Pursuit - A Chase Like No Other On a serene day, I found myself at a charming sports club park, basking in the tranquil beauty of the surroundings. As I wandered through the park, admiring the lush greenery and the harmonious chirping of birds, my eyes suddenly locked onto a dazzling flash of blue high up in the treetops. The brilliant azure hue, at first glance, led me to believe that I had stumbled upon the elusive Morpho butterfly, renowned for its resplendent, iridescent wings. With a flutter of excitement and determination bubbling within, I couldn't resist the temptation to investigate further. My heart raced as I set my sights on this captivating gem hidden amidst the leaves and branches. Every step I took toward the tree felt like a leap into a world of enchantment, filled with the promise of an extraordinary encounter. However, as I inched closer, my expert butterfly enthusiast's eye detected subtle distinctions in the wing pattern and flight behavior. It was then that the realization dawned on me - this wasn't a Morpho but rather a Prepona, a butterfly species known for its swiftness and agility. It was, in essence, the Usain Bolt of the butterfly world, capable of zigzagging through the air with astonishing speed and grace. The chase that followed was nothing short of comical. The Prepona, seemingly aware of my intentions, embarked on a whimsical escapade. It flitted from branch to branch, executing hairpin turns and dizzying loops like a caffeinated squirrel, leaving me in fits of laughter and awe. I was engaged in an intricate ballet with this agile creature, a dance of pursuit and evasion that added a playful thrill to the day. With unwavering determination and a sense of camaraderie between me and the Prepona, I persisted in my chase, each moment of the chase intensifying the excitement. It was as if this splendid creature wanted to test my resolve and passion for the art of butterfly chasing. Finally, after a sequence of humorous twists and turns, I managed to outmaneuver the Prepona. With a swift and calculated swoop of my net, I captured the butterfly in a moment that felt like the climax of an adventure. I held it gently in my hands, marveling at the intricate patterns on its wings and the vibrant shades of blue that adorned its delicate frame. Victory was mine, and it was sweeter for the exhilarating chase that had preceded it. In that instant, I realized that while the Morpho butterflies may be renowned for their stunning beauty, there was a unique charm and allure to the swift and agile Prepona, the true Usain Bolt of the butterfly world. This unexpected encounter, filled with laughter, excitement, and triumph, added a vivid and unforgettable chapter to my adventures as a butterfly enthusiast.

Chapter 4: The Papilio Surprise - Not a Black Parides! The sun was beginning its slow descent in the sky as I made my way back, feeling the fatigue in every step after a day filled with exhilarating adventures. The air was still thick with the memories of the captivating butterflies I had encountered, each one more enchanting than the last. However, nature had one final surprise in store for me. As I wearily trod along, my eyes caught sight of a dark form perched gracefully on a vibrant flower. In the fading light, it seemed like a black Parides, a species I had been hoping to encounter. Eager not to disturb this potential gem, I approached it with the utmost caution, my heart pounding with anticipation. But to my amazement, as I drew closer, I realized that this was not a Parides at all. Instead, it was a Papilio, a magnificent swallowtail butterfly. The Papilio, with its striking markings and elegant wings, was a majestic sight to behold, even more so given the unexpected nature of the encounter.


The male Papilio, which I had initially spotted, was a sight to behold, exuding an air of regal beauty. Its wings displayed intricate patterns and a blend of dark and iridescent hues, making it a living work of art. The realization that I had stumbled upon such a splendid creature in the midst of my journey left me in awe. But in a delightful twist of fate, the encounter turned into something even more magical. As I gently held the male Papilio, a second butterfly flitted into view. It was a female of the same species.



Finally, the moment arrived. The female Papilio, in her graceful flight, entered the net with a gentle flutter, her vibrant wings contrasting against the soft mesh. I closed the net gently and securely, cradling this living gem in my hands. It was a moment of pure triumph, an extraordinary capture that allowed me to bring both the male and female Papilio together.

Chapter 5: Running Out of Field Envelopes and Fueling Up

The adventure wasn't all butterflies and nets. As my collection grew, I ran out of field envelopes. No worries, though; I filled up on a hearty meal that could make a king jealous – quail eggs, olives, fries, picanha, and other meats. If only butterflies enjoyed such feasts!










Chapter 6: Diamantina - Where Diamonds Share Space with Fluttering Diamonds Diamantina, known for its abundance of precious stones, had another treasure trove for us - butterflies! Although I didn't capture many butterfly pictures, I did unearth some delicious tropical fruit, including Jabuticaba (black grapes), StarFruit (Carambola), Giant Avocado, and even a Brasolis caterpillar feasting on banana and coconut palms.

This expedition was a whirlwind of adventure, surprises, and laughter. My butterfly collection may be growing, but the excitement of sharing it with you makes it even more special. Stay tuned on my Instagram for the most remarkable discoveries and, as always, keep your nets ready for the next big butterfly adventure! 🦋✨




Disclaimer: Life in the butterfly world is as vibrant as it is short, much like our journey through Brazil. As lepidoptera enthusiasts, we appreciate the allure of collecting these winged wonders. However, it's essential to collect responsibly and within the bounds of local laws and regulations.

We cannot offer advice on securing permits or complying with specific regulations, as these can vary widely depending on your location. It is the responsibility of each collector to research and understand their local legal requirements and ensure they collect butterflies in a lawful and ethical manner.

We encourage fellow lepidoptera lovers to share their butterfly stories with the world while respecting and adhering to the laws that govern their activities. Happy fluttering and exploring the captivating world of butterflies, always mindful of the need to protect these remarkable creatures and their natural habitats.


bottom of page